

# Dedham Parish Council www.dedhamparishcouncil.co.uk

Minutes of Annual Meeting on Friday 24th May 2021 At Duchy Barn, Dedham

Present: Kevin Taylor (chair), Cllr Sheila Beeton, Cllr Jonathan Taylor, Cll Anne Fletcher, Cll Terry Haines, Cll Emily James, Cll Sandra Williams, Cll Paul Harris, Cll Steve Mole

Clerk: Ms Jayne Cole and three members of the public

#### 1. Election of Chairman

This item was taken by Kevin Taylor as the standing Chairman and nominations were requested.

Cllr Jonathan Smith was nominated and seconded for election of Chairman. Cllr Sheila Beeton was nominated and received no seconder

Cllr Jonathan Smith was duly elected unanimously as Chairman.

Kevin Taylor stepped down to join the public and Cll Jonathan Smith took the Chair.

### 2. Election of Deputy Chairman

Nominations were requested for the post of Deputy Chairman.

Cll Gill Neville was nominated and seconded and there being no other nominations was elected unanimously as Deputy Chairman.

### 3. Apologies for absence

CII Gill Neville

#### 4. Declaration of Interest.

Councillors to declare any disclosable pecuniary interests, other pecuniary interests, and non-pecuniary interests not already declared.

There were no declarations of interest declared.

## 5. Minutes

Acceptance of minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting 30th April 2021.

The minutes of the 30th April 2021 meeting were accepted.

### 6. Have Your Say

#### **Borough Councillor Report**

Cllr Nigel Chapman introduced himself to the new Council and explained that there were three Borough Councillors representing Dedham for the Rural North Ward, this included Cllrs Peter Chillingworth and Darius Laws each taking a different area within the division (North, Middle and East). CBC would be holding a visual Planning Training Day in June and details would be sent through to Parish Councils. Boxford, Langham and Dedham were trying to work together to formulate a strategy on issues like Quiet Lanes which encourages drivers to travel at slower speeds giving priority to pedestrians and cyclists. It was noted that in other areas

where Quiet Lanes have been introduced it had not reduced the speed of motorists and this was a matter of concern.

Cllr Jonathan Smith explained that recent work at the Drift had accidentally gone through BT Broadband cables, this has been rectifies and an apology has been issued to affected parties.

The Councils Webmaster, John Goldsbrough introduced himself to the new Council and requested information, contact details and pictures for the Councils website.

Cllr Emily James left the meeting.

# 7. To debate and decide the action to be taken determine the Committees and Working Groups (WG) structure and remits going forward.

There was a discussion regarding the current structure and remits which consisted of one Committee and eight Working Groups:

Personnel Committee
Car Parking
Strategic Development
Finance
Lighting
Planning
Sports and Recreation
Business Communications and Media
Environment, Highways and Safety

It was noted that Cllrs Gill Neville and Shiela Beeton had given some thought to the structure and put forward some ideas. It was therefore decided to circulate ideas on streamlining the structure and bring the new groups and structure to the next Council Meeting.

#### 8. To agree expenditure detailed on the finance document appendix (a)

The expenditure was agreed and finance document noted.

#### Date and Time of the next meeting.

The next meeting will take place July 5th.